International Organization:

    • International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO)
    • European Civil Aviation Conference (ECAC)
    • European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation (Eurocontrol)
    • Civil Air Navigation Services organisation (CANSO)
    • International Air Transport Association (IATA)
    • International Federation of Air Traffic Controllers’ Associations (IFATCA)


    Equipment manufacturers:

    • ARINC

    • Si ATM

    • Rohde & Schwarz

    • Frequentis

    • Alenia

    • Fernau

    • Alcatel


    CANSO - the Civil Air Navigation Services Organisation - is the global voice of air traffic management. Founded in 1997, it represents the interests of the Air Navigation Service Providers (ANSPs) worldwide.

    CANSO is an international forum for discussion of ATM related issues where all aviation stakeholders unite to develop and exchange ideas in support of global Air Navigation Services. CANSO represents views and interests of the Members at relevant international institutions.

    CANSO is the global voice of the companies providing air traffic control, and represents interests of Air Navigation Service Providers worldwide. CANSO Members are responsible for supporting 85% of world air traffic, and through our Workgroups, Members share information and develop new policies, with the ultimate aim to improve navigation in the air and on the ground. CANSO also represents its members’ views in major regulatory and industry forums.

    The Mission of CANSO is to provide a global platform for customer and stakeholder driven civil Air Navigation Services (ANS), with paramount emphasis on the provision of safe, efficient and cost effective service.

    CANSO was founded in 1997 and LGS was one of its founders.



    20th June 2012 – Nine northern European Air Navigation Service Providers (ANSPs) have signed a formal commercial alliance to improve efficiency, and reduce costs and environmental impact.

    The new alliance, called Borealis Alliance, includes the ANSPs of Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Norway, Sweden and the UK. They provide air traffic services for 3.5m flights a year, across 12.5 million Km2 of north European airspace. Between them, they form Europe’s major transatlantic gateway.

    Borealis Alliance is a unique move to enable joint initiatives to improve flight efficiency and reduce environmental impact, delivered across the whole area in a move which will also streamline cost of services and operational/technical infrastructure.

    Borealis Alliance will focus on strategic business cooperation between the member ANSPs, seeking economies of scale and projects that can be achieved on a commercial basis, complementing the work of the northern European Functional Airspace Blocks (FABs) but without the need for regulatory or State involvement.




    The Nordic and Baltic countries are currently involved in several separate initiatives aimed at establishing functional airspace blocks.

    The Operational Concept is a major factor in the establishment of NEFAB and a core driver in reaching the performance targets in the areas of safety, environment, capacity and cost effectiveness. The concept will contribute to meeting the needs of the airspace users by delivering enhancements in flight efficiency, military mission
    effectiveness and capacity, in a safe, environmentally sustainable and cost-efficient manner for all airspace users and service providers. The main quantifiable parameters are shorter routes, reduced flying time, reduced fuel burn and reduced emissions. Specifically the airspace design in conjunction with an efficient air traffic service,
    optimising the flight profiles, will provide major improvements.

    Estonia, Finland, Latvia and Norway have established a functional airspace block to cover the four States’ airspace, called NEFAB (North European Functional Airspace Block). The venture was initiated through collaboration between the service providers that are engaged in such activities in the Nordic and Baltic countries, on a study regarding the basis for airspace cooperation (functional airspace block). The preparations have progressed through different phases and the number of participating States has diminished along the way. Nevertheless, a feasibility study in August 2011 showed that a FAB covering the airspace of the four States in question will be beneficial and that it meets the formal requirements of the Single European Sky legislation.

    This was the basis for the negotiations between the four States on a formal agreement to establish NEFAB. The agreement was signed in Tallinn on 4 June 2012 and it came into force on 23 December 2012 In parallel with the preparations at Government level, the national aviation authorities and service providers have prepared separate
    agreements to regulate their cooperation. The agreement between the States has been approved by the national assemblies of Finland, Latvia and Norway, while approval by the Government is sufficient in Estonia.

    The State-level Agreement establishing the North European Functional Airspace Block (NEFAB) has entered into force on 23 December 2012.

    Whilst the legislation on the Single European Sky is in principle limited to activities concerning civilian air traffic, the legislation makes cooperation between civilian and military authorities mandatory. This is reflected in the agreement on NEFAB, and military authorities will be closely involved in the cooperation within the FAB.

    The North European Functional Airspace Block (NEFAB) Feasibility study has assessed and identified the initiatives and opportunities for NEFAB. Considerable improvements can be achieved not only through the optimisation of airspace, but also by closer and more integrated cooperation between the participating air navigation service providers (ANSPs). The improvements are described as the minimum and performance scenarios for the year 2020 as well as a Vision for the year 2015. Both scenarios are expected to fulfil the requirements as stated in article 9a of the Service Provision Regulation 550/2004. NEFAB shall contribute to the improvement of the overall EU wide performance of air navigation services and network functions for general air traffic as stated in EU Commission Regulation 691/2010.